Jan Margarit and Sheila Aviles win Skyrace Comapedrosa

Spaniards prevail in Andorra over the short, steep course

Jan Maragrit on his way to the win in Andorra (Pic: MRSWS / Roger Salanova)

Jan Maragrit on his way to the win in Andorra (Pic: MRSWS / Roger Salanova)

Spaniards Jan Margarit and Sheila Aviles took the wins last weekend at the Skyrace Comapedrosa in Andorra, the latest race in the Migu Run Skyrunner World Series.

Ascending 2300m in just 21km of distance, the race was held over the shortest and steepest course of the skyrunning circuit.

Margarit led throughout the two hours 36 minutes and 33 seconds, chased by Russian descending specialist Evgeny Markov, who eventually placed second, 80 seconds adrift. Slovenia’s Rok Bratina was third in 2:39:41.

The winner said afterwards: "I took the lead at the very beginning with Théo and Rok as I imagined would happen. I push hard on the first downhill and managed to get a ten to fifteen-second lead on Théo. At the first downhill, I aimed to make this gap even bigger and, by the second uphill, I was already alone. I didn't know the difference but I knew there was a big gap. The thought of qualifying for Limone was my motivation today during the race and so to take home first is incredible."

Aviles took the lead from the start and went on to finish 14 minutes 57 seconds clear of the field to secure her third win of the 2019 Skyrunner World Series. She clocked 3:01:38 as compatriot Ester Casajuana finished runner-up. Claudia Sabata made it a Spain-only podium, crossing the line in 3:19:29.

Sweden’s Sanna El Kott, who had been on contention for second, faded to fifth after a fall on the last downhill.

Aviles said: "I was confident I would win from the beginning. I felt strong throughout the entire race and, when I reached the top of the first climb, I just wanted to take off so I could enjoy the downhill on my own. I didn't want to fight this time like in 2018. I really wanted to finish alone. It feels so good to be number one in the overall ranking and now I'm more motivated than ever to fight harder for the overall number one of the series.”

Women’s winner Sheila Aviles (Pic: MRSWS / Roger Salanova)

Women’s winner Sheila Aviles (Pic: MRSWS / Roger Salanova)

.view-list .excerpt-thumb { display:block !important;