Tom Evans, Jon Albon and Beth Pascall head completed GB team for world championships

More names have been added to the squad for the inaugural World Mountain and Trail Running Championships

Beth Pascall (credit Bob Atkins)

by Trail Running |

Tom Evans, Beth Pascall and Jonathan Albon lead the now completed Great Britain & Northern Ireland teams for the World Mountain and Trail Running Championships in Chiang Mai, Thailand, next February.

The inaugural edition of the event, which was postponed from this November due to the pandemic, brings together 10 events: uphill-only and up-and-down mountain races for seniors and juniors and the 40km and 80km trail races for seniors.

Several names have been added following the mountain running trials earlier this month.

Jacob Adkin won the senior European title in 2019, while Joe Dugdale sealed gold in the world and European championships in the junior category in the same year. Trials winner Max Nicholls and Chris Richards complete the team to take on the world’s best next year.

Adkin, Dugdale and Nicholls will all compete in the up-and-down race squad as well, joining Andrew Douglas. The latter has decided to focus on the mountain running event, therefore he has withdrawn from the men’s 40km trail race.

Hannah Horsburgh and Scout Adkin lead the way in the women’s uphill only race, along with Kate Maltby; all three will also race in the up-and-down race.

Naomi Lang will join the trio in the classic up-and-down race, while Victoria Wilkinson, third at the Trials at Skiddaw recently, completes the team of four for the uphill only event.

The junior up-and-down races see trials winners Alice Crane and Edward Corden (Michael Doyle, Stockport) lead the way, while Matt Knowles, who won the British junior mountain running title in Northern Ireland in early September, also adds his name to the roster.

These join the athletes already announced teams for the trail races, including Western States Endurance Run champion Pascall, who will run the 80km. Former UTMB CCC winner Evans will return from recent surgery to also contest the 80km.

Albon, who won the UTMB OCC race last August, will run the 40km race. Also in that race will be former world long-distance mountain running champion Charlotte Morgan.

Mountain running

Senior women (uphill only)

Scout Adkin

Hannah Horsburgh

Kate Maltby

Victoria Wilkinson

Senior men (uphill only)

Jacob Adkin

Joe Dugdale

Max Nicholls

Chris Richards

Senior women (up-and-down)

Scout Adkin

Hannah Horsburgh

Naomi Lang

Kate Maltby

Senior men (up-and-down)

Jacob Adkin

Andrew Douglas

Joe Dugdale

Max Nicholls

Junior women (up and down)

Alice Crane

Isla Hedley

Charlotte Rawstron

Rosie Woodhams

Junior men (up and down)

Edward Corden

Ben O’Dowd

Finlay Grant

Matt Knowles


80km men

Tom Evans

George Foster

Harry Jones

Ryan Smith

Nick Swinburn

80km women

Meryl Cooper

Sophie Grant

Jo Meek

Beth Pascall

40km men

Tom Adams

Jon Albon

Sebastian Batchelor

Billy Cartwright

Ricky Lightfoot

40km women

Elsey Davis

Nichola Jackson

Charlotte Morgan

Georgia Tindley

Kirsteen Welch

Just so you know, whilst we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this website, we never allow this to influence product selections - read why you should trust us